You’re my Banshee <3

*X-Men: First Class (fanfiction) story*

I laid on my bed and stared blankly at the ceiling. Ignoring the wretched screams between my stepfather and my mother. If only I could escape all this, if only I could simply ‘disappear’. I shifted uncomfortably to my side and pulled a pillow over my head. And with that, all the sounds around me ceased, except for the beating of my heart. It wasn’t annoying, it was rather peaceful, like hammer against cloth.
I enjoyed moments like these. Where it was just me and no one else. Not my drunk careless stepfather or my heartless ignorant mother, just me. I allowed my eyes to close and in a matter of minutes I was fully asleep.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My slumber was suddenly interrupted with the sound of the doorbell ringing.
Must be some of Ron’s disgusting friends, my stepfather.
I slowly opened my eyes and allowed them to adjust to the brightly lit room.
I propped myself up with my elbow and moved my feet to the side of the bed.
I simply sat there while rubbing my eyes. I was still sleepy. After a short time,
I finally got up and walked over to my window.
I let my arm rest against the wall and looked at the shimmering sunset. Getting lost with the many colors portrayed against the slightly green grass.

“WHO THE FUCK ARE YOU?” I heard Ron scream from downstairs.
Well I guess it must be someone else.
Probably a salesman, Ron always treats those guys terribly.
I returned her attention towards the window. I imagined myself running away,
far away from all this chaos.
There was probably something better waiting for me behind those big thorny bushes in her backyard.
Maybe, just maybe.

“GET THE HELL OUT OF MY HOUSE, THE LOT OF YOU!!!” My mother screamed
at the top of her lungs.
I began to grow curious. Who could be so persistent? Whoever it is must leave now, before he or she
gets their brains blown out by my stepfather.

I suddenly heard faint footsteps. They grew louder and louder as they were
coming up the stairs.
I launched towards the door and quickly locked it. The footsteps stopped in front of her door
and the doorknob tried to turn.
I heard someone sigh in annoyance.
“It’s locked Charles.” A deep voice said. I quickly stepped away from
the door and let my body back up against a corner of my room.
I let my body slide down and I then hugged my knees.

“Move aside Erik.” A soft smooth voice said. The doorknob slowly half
turned and then completely.
I shrieked in surprise and dug my nails to the side of my knees. OH GOD NO. I stayed there, petrified.
My adrenaline was pumping extremely fast, it was scary.
I had never been so scared. My whole body began shaking as the door slowly opened.
I shut my eyes and hid my face behind my arms, which were still gripping to my knees.
I could hear the footsteps shift around my room and a few mumbles here and there. My shaking slowed and I finally had the courage to lift my head.
I slowly opened one eye and I saw one of the figures walk around my large window.
I opened both eyes now and began looking for the other man. He was standing over my bed, awfully close to where I was.
I quickly hid my face behind my knees again.

“She’s not here Charles!” Said the tall man by my window.
“She has to be here. I­ I can feel her presence.” He said looking all around him. My head peeked up again.
They haven’t seen me yet. How? He’s right in front of me and he’s actually about to

“Ow.” I said as the guy stepped on my right foot. I stared at the figure above me.
He narrowed his eyes towards me and crouched down.
He extended his hand and hovered it inches away from my face.

“Olivia? Are you here? Please do not hide. We are not here to hurt you, we are here to help you.” He said in a smooth calming voice.
I looked at him in confusion and allowed my muscles to slightly relax.
He let out a sigh of relief and a big smile appeared on his face.

“Hello Olivia. I’m glad we can finally see you.” He said while extending his hand for me to take.
I hesitated but placed my hand into his.
He pulled me up without any hesitation and he then walked over to his friend.
I stood where I was, not knowing if I should really trust these guys. Charles took a step forward and pointed his finger at me.
“That’s an exceptional power you have there. Invisibility, how marvelous!” he exclaimed.
I looked at him with even more confusion, letting my eyebrow rise as I said “What are you talking about?” He let out a small laugh before looking over to his friend.
They exchanged looks before he returned his gaze towards me again. “Well surely you must know…”

“Maybe she doesn’t know Charles.” The tall man named Erik said.
Charles turned to look at him and then at me and then towards his friend once more. Erik shrugged his shoulders towards Charles.
Charles placed a hand on his face in shame. “Oh my god. I’m soooo sorry.”
He buried his face in his hand before saying “I thought you knew.”

” Knew what!?” I said rather annoyed.
I hate it when I don’t know what people are talking about!
Erik took a few steps forward and stood right in front of me.
” You see, we were not able to see you when we came through the door.
We looked around but were not able to find you.
You were nowhere to be seen.

You were­-” Charles interrupted him “You turned invisible. There most have been something that triggered it for the first time.
Fear, Hate, Love. Something you experienced for the first time today.” He said with all seriousness.

“Wait,what!?” I said rather loud.
Charles stepped closer to me and placed his hands on my shoulders.
“You are a mutant, Olivia.” I pulled away from his grasp.
He placed his hands to his sides and mumbled sorry.
Erik turned around to look at the window behind him and said “Indeed you are, Olivia. Indeed you are…”

FIN

2 thoughts on “You’re my Banshee <3

  1. I have never read a piece of fan fiction and I very much enjoyed yours. Since I have seen all the X-Men films it was easy for me to imagine such a scenario since they do show the same type of experience with Jane and Rogue throughout the film’s franchise.
    I love the idea that you had full control of how Olivia’s discovery would have l played out if such event would or could ever happen. It allowed me to see your personal mark on such a successful franchise.

    The story was visual and it wanted me to read on to hear about your first experience in the school and the journey of the development Olivia would go through with her mutation.

    …and nice choice on the type of mutation you wanted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment